I can't believe that its already time for the final phase of mitosis: telophase. Telophase is where the chromosomes unwind back into chromatin and the nuclear envelope reforms between around the DNA. Also, a crease (a.k.a. cleavage furrow) will form where the cell will split in cytokinesis. Although this is technically the final stage in mitosis, cytokinesis is when the cell is actually split into two. In telophase, a possible issue can occur in the re-formation of the membrane around the chromatin, causing an uneven split of chromosomes in the two daughter cells.

Cytokinesis is where I, the mother cell, will split into two daughter cells. This marks the division of the cytoplasm and is often paired with telophase, as they occur so closely. I decided to name my daughter cells... (drumroll, please) Ella Dermis and Erma Dermis!

The process of mitosis is coming to close, as well as this blog, but you can still stay in touch with me through my new blog, Raising Epidermal Cells.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi, I'm Emma Dermis, the author of Life as A Skin Cell, just an average skin cell living life on some face. I love long walks on the cheekbones and meeting other epidermal cells. 

    You'll follow me through the mitosis process to create my two daughter cells: Ella and Erma Dermis. I can't wait to experience this with all of my readers!